Renee Fleming 1,2,3,4,5 …

Dear friends and readers,

And now for something unusual coming from me and on this blog. A parodic mode YouTube. I need some cheering up, so pray excuse this sudden departure.

I missed my beloved Renee Fleming (yes I’m a devoted fan) singing the National Anthem at the Superbowl; well, I heard her from Yvette’s room just overwhelming the whole place. She managed it. Yvette and I are now looking forward to on Saturday hearing and seeing her sing in Dvorak’s Rusalka at the HD opera theater not far from us, which I do hope to write about here, and in anticipation of this event I offer her in comic mode on Sesame Street (the YouTube is mislabeled) more years ago than I or she like to remember:

And singing 10 top opera lyrical tunes with new lines substituted for the familiar ones:

Ellen

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

4 thoughts on “Renee Fleming 1,2,3,4,5 …”

  1. Yes, she’s wonderful singer isn’t she. Jutta, Mark and I all love her voice. I saw an interview with her and she seems such a normal grounded lady, very kindly and humble. She’s not a diva in the stereotypical manner, just a great musician.

    1. I’ve grown to love her as a human being: well, as the human being she presents herself as (roundabout that). She organized and orchestrated a three day set of songs, teach-ins by famous singers to up-and-coming singers, each on a type of music (opera, musical, rock, country, gospel, jazz); splendid. I enjoy her as a hostess of the HD operas and just love her singing and acting in the operas I’ve seen.

      This good-natured one is in character.

      1. We don’t see enough of her over here, but I was most impressed with her, as a character and as a performer. Jutta gets the German arts channel and she has appeared on that several times. She acts so well and always seems to be enjoying herself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.